What Realistic things Does a Head Coach need to do for UMass football to be successful?

Get ready for some MACtion
jjmc85
Senior

What Realistic things Does a Head Coach need to do for UMass football to be successful?

Post by jjmc85 » Wed Oct 06, 2021 1:35 am

I have had season tickets since I graduated going back to the days of Don Brown (or maybe since I was a freshman with Whipple 1.0 if you count using the UCard) so I don’t exactly consider myself to be anti-football. Sitting at McGuirk watching Toledo run a no huddle offense up up 38 in the fourth, I wondered what can even happen at UMass to make this work. Here are the facts as I see them.

1) Massachusetts and New England are driven by professional sports. College is an after thought for the vast majority of fans in the area.
2) Massachusetts is great for public education in grades K-12. It is not great when it comes to funding public education for higher ed.
3) Massachusetts high school football does not produce a great deal of FBS talent, nor do many New England states. The talent produced that is really good tends to either leave for big time programs or else goes to Boston College.
4) McGuirk is not that great of a stadium. It’s like a poor man’s version of the old Foxboro Stadium and that place was a dump compared to some other places I’ve been to.
5) The alumni concentrated in Eastern MA weren’t willing to pack Gillette for this program.
6) There is no Conference opportunity on the horizon. It is questionable if any football conference would want UMass, and any that might would want basketball and that seems to be a nonstarter for most of the fanbase.
7) There are no bowl tie ins.
8:The last truly successful season the program has had was 2010 when they just missed the FCS playoffs. Or perhaps 2007 when they made the FCS playoffs for the last time.